Back to Main Entry

Table of Contents of The Bear and the Porcupine: The US and Mexico

Prologue In the Land of Aztlán

Of Ignorance and Arrogance

Preface to the Revised Edition
Not Enough

Chapter 1 Clearing the Land
Chapter 2 The Ambivalence
Chapter 3 White House to Casablanca
Chapter 4 The Flower Wars
Chapter 5 Certifiably Insane
Chapter 6 Running in Vicious Circles
Chapter 7 Fingers, Locks, and Primaries
Chapter 8 Dancing on Marbles in Chinatown
Chapter 9 The Caribbean Three-Step
Chapter 10 “Where Did All These People Come From?”
Chapter 11 The Hole in the Wall
Chapter 12 Mexico Changes Course
Chapter 13 Incidents of Travel
Chapter 14 The Fox Presidency
Chapter 15 Fidel’s Revenge
Chapter 16 Visits from Planet Washington
Chapter 17 The Mothers of All Visits
Chapter 18 Enrique
Chapter 19 The Negotiation That Wasn’t
Chapter 20 The End of the Honeymoon
Chapter 21 To Hell With Your Institutions
Epilogue 2025